going to the market, to market!!

in any given city, there are bound to be outdoor greenmarkets, flea markets and artisan handmade fairs.

new york city is like a playground of outdoor entertainment and markets in the summertime. i think i’m in the right place for this…

now, with a few markets under my belt thus far this summer – – i feel more comfortable, and really, really enjoy talking to my customers about my bags, my process and chatting!

i hurdled over my initial intimidation of participating in markets, the general fear i had of putting myself and my work out there for others to see (and ultimately judge) and have received amazing positive feedback to help keep me moving forward :-)

thank you to those who have supported me thus far, those of you who have stopped by my tent at the various markets i have been at this summer.  i have lots more up my sleeve, planning, designing and stocking up on luscious gorgeous fabrics!!

join me next sunday at the fulton stall market, sunday june 27th from noon – 6pm

here is a little bit about this market, from their website:

Memorial Day weekend marks the return of the Fulton Stall Market, the only outdoor food market serving lower Manhattan’s historic Seaport District.In its second year, the 2010 market features a hand-picked collection of locally produced seasonal fruits and vegetables, handmade cheeses, organic breads, cut flowers and potted plants, area roasted coffee, and New York state wines. Approximately a dozen vendors will occupy the 16 former fish stalls that line South Street between Fulton and Beekman Streets.

Historically, the area is no stranger to vibrant food markets. The Fulton Market fed New York for centuries. Originally opened in 1822, it was a bustling market that sold vegetables, meats, dairy products and of course, most famously fish. The latter became the mainstay of the area and the stalls located on South Street served as home to the Fulton Fish Market until 2005, when it relocated to Hunts Point in the Bronx.

Today, Fulton Stall Market provides individuals and families living and working downtown with access to fresh foods and exceptional products produced by quality farmers and purveyors.

All of the handmade wares at the market are from a handpicked selection of local New York artists, creators and designers from the {NewNew} – New York Etsy Street team, a group that i belong to and support. the talent of individuals on this team is unreal. you’ll find shop and brands of jewelry, clothing, ceramics, screen printed wares, soaps and body products, stationery and so much more!!  all handmade, all local. want to find out more about the {NewNew}?? stop by our blog, chock full of daily updates, cool places to go and featured artists! or check out the {NewNew} website :-)

if you haven’t already, find sans map on facebook – where you can stay up to date on new additions to my shop, which market i’ll be at next and much, much more!!  click on my logo below to jump directly to sans map on facebook :-)

hope to see you all next week at the fulton stall market! :-)

One thought on “going to the market, to market!!

  1. Lola Falk

    Great post! I definitely want to try to come see you at Fulton. And all these shows you’re doing…you are starting to make me want to do one again ;). Won’t be long before I’m back in the swing of it, I’m sure, hehe.

    And p.s. – my sis LOVED the sans map bag I gave her for her birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

